3,000 years ago, primitive humans inhabited the area of Erhai Lake. As early as the 2nd century B.C., Dali was on the map of the Kingdom of the Central Plains as Yeyu County. In 738, Pilouge, a chieftain of the Bai Tribe, united the six tribes of the Erhai region with the support of the Tang Dynasty, and established the State of Nanzhao, which was destroyed in 902. Duan Siping, also of the Bai Tribe, established the State of Dali in 938. During the 500-year period of Nanzhao and Dali, Dali City was the political, economic and cultural center of Yunnan Province. Emperor Khublai Khan of the Yuan Dynasty (1271-1368) eliminated the State of Dali, establishing in its place Yunnan Province. The Dali area was renamed Taihe County, and this name persisted during the Ming and Qing dynasties (1368-1911), before it was renamed Dali in 1913. In 1983, Dali County and Xiaguan City merged into Dali City. The city is one of the 24 leading historical and cultural cities and one of the 44 State-designated Scenic Centers in the country.



Dali 3 days 2 nights $ 159/person


Day 01  Airport pickup.  Accommodation: Manwan hotel

Day 02  Accommodation: Manwan hotel

Day 03  Airport drop


::Scenic Three Pagodas Temple 




The Three Pagodas are located 1 km northwest of Dali Old Town at the foot of Zhonghe Peak. They are historical witnesses of the prevailing Buddhism in those days in Dali. The Three Pagodas consist of one big pagoda and two small ones. They stsnd like the three legs of a tripod which looks magnificent. They are one of the wonders in Dali.In the middle period of the Nanzhao reign, Buddhism was all the rage and in the late period of this Kingdom, when it reached its hayday, Buddhist temples were built all over Yunnan. The Chongsheng Monastery was built by the 10 th king in the era of Quanfengyou(824-859 AD). It was destroyed during the Xianfeng Period in the Qing Dynasty. The Three Pagodas were built respectively at different periods of time. The main pagoda, the Qianxun Pagoda, which is named after its height, was ereted when the Chongsheng Monastery was built. The Qianxun Pagoda is a sixteen-story tower and height of 69.13 metres.On the south and north side of the main pagoda stand two small octagonal ones with closed eaves. Each has 10 stories at a height of 42.4 metres. They were erected during the Wudai Period of the Dali Kingdom. The Three Pagodas are representation of the ancient architectural and cultural arts of the Bai nationality.

::Scenic Dali Old Town




Dali Old Town was set up in the 15 th year of Emperor Hongwu Period of the Ming Dynasty (in 1382 AD) as the capital of the Dali Kingdom. At present, only the south and north gate towers remain standing. Within the Old Town of Dali, there are well-preserved traditional houses of the Bai people. The cute courtyards and peaceful streets treat visitors with calmness and elegance which were typical in the ancient times. Within the town, the "Foreigners' Street" is the favorite place of the overseas visitors to relax and chat over their tourist experiences.

::Scenic The Butterfly fountain 




Situated at the foot of Yunlong Peak of the Cangshan Mountain, 27 km south of the Dali Old Town, the Butterfly Fountain covers an area of 50 square pond. A tall , old tree stands high beside the fountain with large boughs and luxuriant foliage covering the pond. It is known as the "Butterfly Tree". Every 15 th of April when spring is changing into summer, a fragrant smell from the tree will attract different types of butterflies which come and dance over the pond. The most splendid wonder is that they join together one after another and form a long string hanging down from the tree to the surface of water. This spectacle dates back to the Ming Dynasty. Xu Xiake, a famous traveller at that time, had a vivid account of the scene.
In recent years,
Butterfly Fountain Park has undergone renovation and extension, and the Butterfly Tower, the Hexagonal Pavilion, the Crescent Pool, the Butterfly Museum, the Tower Overlooking the Lake and the Statue of Xu Xiake have been built.

::Scenic Cangshan Mountain, Erhai lake 




The Cangshan Mountain, also known as Diancangshan, is named after its verdant forests. The Cangshan Mountain is a chain of the Yunlin Mountain of the Hengduan Mountains. Starting at Eryuan in the north and ending at Xiaguan in the south, it measures 42 km in length and 25 km in wedth. Overlooking the Erhai Lake in the east, the Cangshan Mountain is of great splendour and the scenary is unique. The Cangshan Mountain comprises 19 peaks, the highest of which is Malong Peak at an elevation of 4,122 metres above sea level. It is snow-capped all the year round with a moraine lake on the summit. There are 18 brooks running down the 19 peaks. The snow-melted water between every two peaks rushes down and converges into the Erhai Lake.
The clouds over the mountains are varied and changeable. The most magnificent scenic wonders are the Husband-Yearning Cloud and the Jade-like Belt of Clouds. Every year when spring is changing into summer, a lone cloud will emerge over the top of Yuju Peak, drifting up and down and casting glances about. Then, it suddenly turns into a dark cloud, resembling a woman in black. At this very moment, a gale will howl and cause rolling waves across the lake; this cloud is called "The Husband-Yearning Cloud". After rain in summer or autumn, a cloud will drift up slowly in the sky, stretching out kilometres around like a jade belt round the mountain; this is called "the Jade-like Belt of Clouds". The Yunyou tour route is a newly developed scenic area. Many scenic spots lie along the route: the Jiangjun Cave, the Shimen Pass, the Hall of Avalokittesvara, the Gantong Temple, the Zhonghe Temple, the Qingbi Book, the Butterfly Fountian and so on.
The weather in the Cangshan Mountain is varied and unpredicable. It is snow-white on the top, and the flowers bloom in profusion at the foot. The Cangshan Mountain is not only abundant in vegetation such as pine trees, furs, camellias, azaleas, orchids and medicinal herbs like Chinese angelica and banksia rose, but also in marble resources.

The Erhai Lake, known as Yeyuze or Kunming Lake in ancient times, is named after its ear-like shape. It is a fresh water lake in the Yunnan Plateau at an elevation of 1972 metres.It starts at Dengchuan in the north and ends at Xiaguan in the south with a length of 42 km and width of 8 km.It is 116 km in circumference and covers an area of 250 square km. The average depth is about 11 metres and the total storage capacity is 2.5 billion cubic metres. The Erhai Lake is the second largest lake in Yunnan Province.
The Erhai Lake is a fault lake formed after a foundering of the earth's crust. The water of the Erhai Lake is limpid. On a clear night, when the moon is mirrored on the lake, one will enjoy one of the most magnificent sights(Wind, Flower, Snow and Moon)-the Erhai Moon in Dali.





© Copyright 2002 LLL International Travel Inc., All rights reserved.